Real Wedding Roundup #1

The Intern Diaries

Let me first start with a little background:

Aside from enjoying my intern position here at EMG, I also work for a catering company (who shall not be named) on the weekends. I’ve been working there as a server for about six years now and have seen my fair share of weddings. With somewhere between 250-300 weddings under my belt, I’ve seen pretty much everything. It amazes me how enough though every wedding is pretty much the same and they all start to run together in my head, people still manage to show me something new every weekend.

This will be my weekly blog entry about the highlights from these weekend. Keep in mind, these are real live weddings – everything actually happened.

Weird wedding favors: People can pretty much choose from anything when it comes to wedding favors. So I’m always interested to see what a couple chooses to give their guests. This weekend the bride and groom decided to personalize each favor according to the table their guests sat at. The table names were a multitude of different things that had some significance to the couple. For example, if you sat at a table named Barcelona, you got a bottle of Spanish wine. If you sat at the Harry Potter table, you got one of J.K Rowlings’ books. If you weren’t so lucky, you were seated at the Cheez-It table, named for their dog and received a box of the delicious baked crackers with the pup’s face on it.

Probably the funniest name for a dog I’ve ever heard. And yes, he wore a bow-tie. He was the ring bearer.

Badly behaved groomsmen: It’s not unrare to see groomsmen behaving poorly. It’s not their wedding, so many take advantage of the open bar and plethora of single ladies on the dance floor. This weekend was a first for me. Never have I ever witnessed a member of the bridal party so openly use an illegal substance at a wedding. As I sat on my break, eating my dinner, a groomsman invited himself to sit down a roll a joint at our table. Casual.

Leave a Reply

