Man fakes his own death in proposal

It’s Throwback Thursday here at EMG so you know what that means… OLD NEWS!

I stumbled upon this plight of insanity from a year ago.

Headline: Before proposing to girlfriend, man fakes his own death to show her how meaningless life would be without him

Story: With the help of a director, stuntman, producer, make-up artist and boatloads of money to blow, a Russian businessman faked his own death. He told his girlfriend to meet him at the site of the “accident” so she could witness his “demise.”

“When I arrived there were mangled cars everywhere, ambulances, smoke, and carnage,” she told Russian media. “Then when I saw Alexey covered in blood lying in the road a paramedic told me he was dead and I just broke down in tears.”

Then, like a phoenix rising from the ashes, the boyfriend sprang to his feet and dropped to one knee. She actually said yes.

His reasoning? “I wanted her to realise how empty her life would be without me and how life would have no meaning without me,” Bykov said. “I think it worked but I promise it’s the last time.”

Thoughts:

– Why didn’t she kill him right there and then? Or, better yet, pull a Romeo & Juliet move and fake her own death because she simply couldn’t live without him. That would show him.

– If you have to force your girlfriend to realize what her life would be like without you – your ego is out of control. How do you fit in bed together with the sheer enormity of your head?

The best of the Comments section:

“I proposed to my wife at a romantic dinner. When dessert was brought to the table, I plunged a knife into my gut and proceeded to pull out my own intestines. My wife was so surprised when she ran over to hold in my intestines, and she found a beautiful engagement ring attached to my duodenum. We still laugh every time she changes my colostomy bag.” – MauryCompson

– The couple that laughs together, stays together, right?

“I’m kind of surprised he didn’t build a complete small town to enhance the illusion. I hear that’s what rich folk like to do.” – Cheneysheart

– Stuff white people like: massive explosions, spending ca$h on useless stuff, Conan O’Brien, crocs

“What we really should have done is fake the death of his bank accounts.” – Max Contrarian

Leave a Reply

